November 6 – 10, 2017

Thank you, parents, for your time at conferences. The majority of students do well because of the support they get at home, and I thank you for working with me to make your student the best he/she can be this year.

We had a great week at the book fair. Thank you volunteers for a fun western theme and for super book buys. I will have one scholastic book fair order flyer coming home soon for the holidays, and that will be it for book orders until next year. Need any Christmas gifts?

Next Week:

Math test review and math test – Any problems that students get wrong on the test review can be taken home and studied and practiced in order to do better on the test. The test problems will be directly related to the test review problems, so studying the test review is very helpful.

Writing – Continuing our realistic fiction stories with peer review, revising, and editing.

Reading – Learning our text features for nonfiction reading.

Core Democratic Values – Three more to go, and a quiz on Thursday.

Spelling – Pretest every Monday when words should come home, and our test is every Friday.

Practicing our nonfiction reading strategies using text features to guide our reading in partner work.

Two volunteers needed!  I have a box of books I was fortunate enough to purchase, and I need them leveled to go into my classroom library. If you are able to help (anytime of day); please email me. I will walk you through the process, and we can get this done to give our students more to read.

Thank you! Have a great weekend and stay warm!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *